Help Support Our Growing Community

DOTAFire is a community that lives to help every Dota 2 player take their game to the next level by having open access to all our tools and resources. Please consider supporting us by whitelisting us in your ad blocker!

Want to support DOTAFire with an ad-free experience? You can support us ad-free for less than $1 a month!

Go Ad-Free
Smitefire logo

Join the leading DOTA 2 community.
Create and share Hero Guides and Builds.

Create an MFN Account

Or

How to proceed as a new player

Please review our General Rules & Guidelines before posting or commenting anywhere on DOTAFire.

Forum » New Player Help » How to proceed as a new player 16 posts - page 1 of 2
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep by sal69 » December 16, 2013 6:35am | Report
Hi there,

i started playing Dota2 a few weeks ago. I did the tutorial and currently i am playing player vs. bot matched online to learn the game.
I am currently going thru all the hero's and i plan to do so until i played every hero at least once. I usually go thru a few guides before i test a new char to have some idea on how to play them. Now i am currently <10 Hero's short of completing my goal.
My plan was to go and play pub's after that using a support char of my choice.
Is that a reasonable approach?
When should i switch to playing vs. Humans instead of bots?
Does is make sense to search for a team/clan before building up a decent skill level?

thx

sal

sal69

Steam: sal
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep by Sando » December 16, 2013 6:58am | Report
Playing every hero is probably overkill but fair play for your hard work. If you're already playing with other people you've got an idea what vs humans will be like (albeit more unpredictable), you're good to go basically. You maybe need to play for a while and get some experience before worrying about getting a serious team/clan, but there's no reason not to team up with friends or nice players that you meet along the way.