Help Support Our Growing Community

DOTAFire is a community that lives to help every Dota 2 player take their game to the next level by having open access to all our tools and resources. Please consider supporting us by whitelisting us in your ad blocker!

Want to support DOTAFire with an ad-free experience? You can support us ad-free for less than $1 a month!

Go Ad-Free
Smitefire logo

Join the leading DOTA 2 community.
Create and share Hero Guides and Builds.

Create an MFN Account

Or

How can I improve survival rate or anticipate attacks?

Please review our General Rules & Guidelines before posting or commenting anywhere on DOTAFire.

Forum » New Player Help » How can I improve survival rate or anticipate attacks? 6 posts - page 1 of 1
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep by Sacha » February 15, 2013 8:59am | Report
Hi all, I'm pretty new to DOTA but so far I think it is an excellent game. I really do have a lot of fun playing but I have some issues I hope you could help with.

Before joining any real games I played over 50 bot matches to get used to Last hitting and some heroes. I've found my two favourite heroes to be Drow (inb4 no carry for beginners) and Silencer. I can play both these reasonably well; in-as-much as I know what items to buy, how to build my spec, how to engage the enemy and I can get lots of last hits.

The problem is that I die stupidly easy with both characters. Drow you kind of expect it because they don't want the hard carry getting farmed up.. it's just gank after gank.. but nevermind.

Silencer on the other hand I am surprised how easy he goes down. I just always seem to get the worst lane opposition ever. They always seem to be able to kill me easily yet I can barely do anything to them. They always come in pairs yet when I ask for help to try gank then my lane partner never wants to oblige.