Help Support Our Growing Community

DOTAFire is a community that lives to help every Dota 2 player take their game to the next level by having open access to all our tools and resources. Please consider supporting us by whitelisting us in your ad blocker!

Want to support DOTAFire with an ad-free experience? You can support us ad-free for less than $1 a month!

Go Ad-Free
Smitefire logo

Join the leading DOTA 2 community.
Create and share Hero Guides and Builds.

Create an MFN Account

Or

Team Guides?

Please review our General Rules & Guidelines before posting or commenting anywhere on DOTAFire.

Forum » New Player Help » Team Guides? 13 posts - page 1 of 2
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep by ApoY2k » November 4, 2013 11:51pm | Report
I recently started playing DOTA with a bunch of friends. We all did some time in ye olde wc3 days on the very first versions, so the absolute basics are fairly familiar.

The problem I face is with picking a hero. I have made the tutorials, where you get to play some different heroes, but none of them really felt like to be fit for me (if you can even say that). So, in our first few Bot-matches I also tried picking just any hero I haven't played as of yet to get to know more of them.

Now, that obviously leads to the situation that our team as a whole is never really balanced, as everyone just picks a hero that he likes and knows how to play (to an extent at our skill level of course).

This strikes me as very ineffective. So, I tried to look for "team setup" guides, that could maybe give us a clue about what good starting team setups we could try to make our heroes more fitted for one another.

This search has not been very successful. There are a lot of Beginner Tutorials out there, but they are not for us because we know all the basic mechanis, terms and roles. Then, there are hero-centered tutorials which explain how to play a single hero.