Help Support Our Growing Community

DOTAFire is a community that lives to help every Dota 2 player take their game to the next level by having open access to all our tools and resources. Please consider supporting us by whitelisting us in your ad blocker!

Want to support DOTAFire with an ad-free experience? You can support us ad-free for less than $1 a month!

Go Ad-Free
Smitefire logo

Join the leading DOTA 2 community.
Create and share Hero Guides and Builds.

Create an MFN Account

Or

Initiating questions

Please review our General Rules & Guidelines before posting or commenting anywhere on DOTAFire.

Forum » New Player Help » Initiating questions 3 posts - page 1 of 1
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep by DopeSauce » October 19, 2013 11:38am | Report
So im new to dota and all that stuff, the one real problem I am having is initiating fights. Im not really sure when to go for the stuns or not, many times I will stun then just die cause my team didnt follow up or I just die before I stun or some similar situation. For example if I am tidehunter and 2 of the enemy team is out of position should I ult hitting those two or should I wait to get the whole team, cause a lot of my problem is I do not like using the stun or whatever CC im using unless I can hit everyone but I feel like that should not be the case all the time. I just have bad judgement calls when it comes to it. Any tips?

DopeSauce

Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep by William » October 19, 2013 4:21pm | Report
Communication is key. Let your team know when you're going to initiate either by pinging or telling them directly.

If you're not in constant communication in voip, they can't expect to know when to follow up and if you go in alone without support you'll just get blown up before they can react.