Help Support Our Growing Community

DOTAFire is a community that lives to help every Dota 2 player take their game to the next level by having open access to all our tools and resources. Please consider supporting us by whitelisting us in your ad blocker!

Want to support DOTAFire with an ad-free experience? You can support us ad-free for less than $1 a month!

Go Ad-Free
Smitefire logo

Join the leading DOTA 2 community.
Create and share Hero Guides and Builds.

Create an MFN Account

Or

Hot keys

Please review our General Rules & Guidelines before posting or commenting anywhere on DOTAFire.

Forum » New Player Help » Hot keys 7 posts - page 1 of 1
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep by bob41k » February 25, 2014 12:03am | Report
Hello everyone.
I'm quite new to dota 2, but I'm very experienced PC user since I work as a web-developer. I'm wondering why most dota users use "qwer" keys instead of "asdf"? I use blind typing and I'm used to have my fingers on "asdf" keys. Using "qwer" feels so unnatural for me. Moreover all keyboards are designed to have you left hand fingers on "asdf". Are there any reasons for using "qwer" I don't see?

Thanks in advance and sorry for my English, it's not my mothertongue.

bob41k

Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep by Ancient Hero » February 25, 2014 1:33am | Report
Dota automatically binds those keys there and has a as attack move and s as stop. Also, players that play micro intensive heros (at least ones ive met and myself) tend to have the numbers as control groups so it makes it easier to micro. Heros with more than the 4 standard speels like rubick or puck also have the "special key" like the stolen spell or jaunt as the d and (if applicable) f keys for those. The only people I know that dont use qwer are legacy key users. Thanks all the reasons I know.

Ancient Hero
<Editor>

Notable (17)
Steam: smiles
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep by PeachFuzz » February 25, 2014 3:50am | Report